›› Home ›› About

News & Headlines

FCC Releases Implementation Schedule of EAS Rule Changes

July 1, 2015

On June 4, 2015, the Federal Communications Commission released the Sixth Report and Order, which addressed the results from the national EAS test conducted in 2011. The order included several changes to the EAS rules, including a new national location code, addressing equipment and discrepancies in video and audio presentations, and a reporting structure for EAS activations on a national level. The R&O set timelines for several changes to take effect, which were based on the order being published in the Federal Register.

The following table was compiled by Suzanne Goucher of the Maine Association of Broadcasters.

National location code (000000, "six zeroes") enabled 12 months from effective date: July 30, 2016
National Periodic Test code (NPT) enabled12 months from effective date: July 30, 2016
Visual Crawl and Audio Accessibility (display legibility, completeness and placement requirements)6 months from effective date: January 30, 2016
Electronic Test Report System (ETRS): Initial station data60 days from effective date of rules, OR 60 days from launch of ETRS, whichever is later (requires OMB approval)
Electronic Test Report System (ETRS): National EAS Test reporting
1. Day of test report
2. Follow-up reporting

1. Within 24 hours of test
2. Within 45 days of test


SBE News item: FCC Updates EAS Rules

The full report is online: https://www.fcc.gov/document/review-emergency-alert-system-1

Go to the News and Headlines Archive SBE logo

Quick Links

facebook  twitter  youtube  linked in  linked in