The Society of Broadcast Engineers

The Association for Broadcast and Multimedia Technology Professionals

Ennes Educational Foundation Trust™

Ennes logo

The Harold Ennes Scholarship Fund Trust was initiated by Indianapolis Chapter 25 in 1980 in memory of Harold E. Ennes, author of many textbooks for broadcast and broadcast-related communications training and a member of the Indianapolis chapter. Ennes (pronounced “EN-es”, like the letters) was a member of the national SBE Certification Committee and made many contributions to the early development of the Certification Program.

To encourage greater growth, in 1981 the Scholarship Trust was transferred by Chapter 25 to the SBE national organization to administer.

Over the years, the purposes of the Trust were expanded. In addition to granting scholarships, the Trust is now involved with the funding and presentation of broadcast engineering-related educational programs, seminars and workshops. It also helps to underwrite costs associated with publishing technical books and manuals.

The name of the Trust was changed in 1995 to the “Harold Ennes Educational Foundation Trust™” to fully embrace its expanded role. Some of the goals of the Trust are to encourage the entry of young people into broadcast technical fields, to provide access to affordable technical media training courses and to encourage development of educational programs of value to the broadcast engineering community.

Each year, the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust offers scholarships to deserving candidates who aspire to a career in the technical aspects of broadcasting. More information on the scholarships. Donations to the scholarship fund can be sent to:

Ennes Educational Foundation Trust 9102 N. Meridian Street, Suite 150 Indianapolis, IN 46260


Three trustees are appointed by the Society of Broadcast Engineers Board of Directors and are responsible for the operation of the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust.


  • Douglas W. Garlinger, CPBE, CBNT – Fishers, IN
  • Tony Peterle, CPBE – Delaware, OH
  • Dale Scherbring, CPBE – Cedar Rapids, IA

The Trustees appoint a scholarship committee to select the recipients of the Ennes Scholarships each year.

Scholarship Committee

  • Kenny Elcock, CPBE – Tallahassee, FL
  • Jim Skinner, CPBE, CBNT – Bellevue, NE
  • Tom Weber, CPBE, CBNT – Indianapolis, IN

The work of the Ennes trustees and Scholarship Committee is supported by three staff of the SBE, at no cost to the Trust.

SBE Staff Support

  • James Ragsdale, SBE Executive Director and treasurer of the Ennes Trust
  • Cathy Orosz, education director
  • Debbie Hennessey, executive assistant